The Spanish Senate has ratified Macedonia’s NATO Accession Protocol

The Spanish Senate ratified Macedonia’s NATO Membership Protocol at a plenary session on Tuesday. The vote was held without the physical presence of senators due to the coronavirus situation in the country. “With zero votes “against” the Spanish Senate has ratified the Protocol. On behalf of the Government and all Macedonian citizens, I express my gratitude to Spain, the Spanish Senate, and to the Minister of Foreign Affairs for bringing this issue to the agenda during such difficult circumstances both in the world and in Europe and in Spain,” stated Foreign Minister Nikola Dimitrov at a joint Government press-conference with Spanish Ambassador Emilio Lorenzo Serra. Dimitrov reminded that Spain was the 29th and last NATO member state to ratify the Protocol. “They will now deposit its instrument of ratification at the State Department, Washington will send the information to NATO in Brussels and we will be formally invited to deposit our accession instrument, or more precisely the North Atlantic Treaty ratification law, which was adopted by Parliament,” added Dimitrov.