SEC Presents Preliminary Results of First Round of Local Elections

At a press-conference on Monday night, State Election Commission (SEC) President Aleksandar Dastevski presented the preliminary election results. In the first round, VMRO-DPMNE’s coalition won 22 mayoral seats, SDSM’s coalition got nine, while DUI has for now three mayors. The deadlines for complaints are underway. The final results for 80 municipalities and the City of Skopje will be presented after the end of the procedure for complaints. In the first round, VMRO-DPMNE won in Aerodrom, Bosilovo, Butel, Veles, Vinica, Gazi Baba, Gradsko, Gjоrce Petrov, Zrnovci, Ilinden, Jegunovce, Kavadarci, Karbinci, Kisela Voda, Mogila, Negotino, Novaci, Petrovec, Prilep, Sveti Nikole, Sopiste and Stip. SDSM’s candidates were elected in Berovo, Bogdanci, Valandovo, Delcevo, Dojran, Kriva Palanka, Krivogastani, Krusevo, and Strumica. DUI won mayoral seats in Lipkovo, Plasnica, and Saraj. The candidates of VMRO-DPMNE and SDSM will face each other on 31 October in the City of Skopje, as well as in Bitola, Vasilevo, Vevcani, Gevgelija, Demir Kapija, Demir Hisar, Zelenikovo, Konce, Kocani, Kratovo, Lozovo, Makedonska Kamenica, Novo Selo, Ohrid, Pehcevo, Probistip, Radovis, Rankovce, Resen, Rosoman, Centar, and Cesinovo-Oblesevo. In Aracinovo, Dolneni, and Caska, there will be a battle between DUI and SDSM. The second round in Bogovinje, Vrapciste, Gostivar, Debar, Struga, Tearce, and Cair will see the candidates of DUI and the coalition of Alliance of Albanians and Alternative participate. In Brvenica and Makedonski Brod, VMRO-DPMNE’s candidate will face an independent one, while SDSM and an independent candidate will try to win the mayoral races in Debarca, Cucer Sandevo, and Kumanovo. There will be a DUI-BESA duel in Tetovo and Zelino. VMRO-DPMNE will face DUI in Kicevo, while the candidates of SDSM and LDP/DOM are part of the second round in Suto Orizari. The other municipalities that will see a second round are: Staro Nagoricane (SDSM vs TMRO), Studenicani (DUI vs DPA), and Karpos (SDSM vs GROM). The voting procedure in two municipalities, Centar Zupa and Mavrovo i Rostuse, will be repeated because the legal condition for 33% of registered voters to participate in the elections wasn’t met.