Mickoski: New Majority Secured in Parliament

On Friday night, VMRO-DPMNE President Hristijan Mickoski said a new majority had been secured in Parliament. “A new future is coming, new time, and new hope,” he wrote on his official Facebook page. The new majority was signed by MPs from Mickoski’s party, BESA, Alliance for Albanians, and Levica. “We have a majority that will guarantee that this government led by SDSM will be a thing of the past,” Mickoski stated. According to him, one option is to form a new majority that will vote no confidence in the Government, while the second is swift and early elections if Zoran Zaev is tactful with regards to his resignation. The following day, on Saturday, the VMRO-DPMNE leader stated that fierce pressures were being exerted on the 61 MPs so that they withdrew the signature. However, he is adamant nobody will change their mind. A caretaker government is not an option for Mickoski. On Sunday, Mickoski said he would wait for Zoran Zaev to submit his resignation as PM to Parliament until 2:30 pm the following day. If that doesn’t happen, the VMRO-DPMNE leader would submit the no-confidence initiative signed by the 61 MPs.