Greece ratifies NATO Protocol for Accession of Macedonia

The Greek Parliament, after a 10-hour long debate, ratified the Protocol for Accession of Macedonia in NATO with 153 votes in favour and 140 against. “History will judge us,” said Greek PM Alexis Tsipras at the session. Macedonian PM Zoran Zaev congratulated the ratification via Twitter. “Our dear friends, Greece, are the first country to ratify the NATO Protocol. We are headed towards great success. It is easier when you have allies, so we can proudly say that we are NATO,” Zaev wrote. Now, Greece is to notify the Macedonian Foreign Ministry on Monday via a note verbale that the Parliament ratified the Protocol. In meantime, the Macedonian MoFA is to notify all 29 NATO member-states that the usage of the new name of the country enters force, so that their national parliament can ratify the Protocol for Accession of Macedonia in NATO under the name “Republic of North Macedonia”. Albania, Bulgaria and Slovenia are expected to be the first countries to ratify the Protocol in the following week.