List of recognised States: UN replaces Provisional designation With new Name

The UN replaced in the evening of 14 February the provisional designation, FYROM, with the new name, Republic of North Macedonia, in the list of recognised states. The same night, the Foreign Ministry the note verbales to the UN informing of the name change. Previously, Sec Gen Antonio Guteres had described the Prespa Agreement, reached under UN auspices, as a welcome, “historic” step that should be supported by regional and international member-states.