Parliament Adopts Changes to Law on Citizenship

With 59 votes in favour, the Parliament adopted on Thursday the Changes to the Law on Citizenship, proposed by the MP group of the Alliance for Albanians (AA). The MPs from VMRO-DPMNE and Levica, as well as three MPs from the ruling majority headed by SDSM voted against the adoption of the changes. The law-changes establish 16 conditions which stateless persons need to fulfil in order to acquire Macedonian citizenship, and focuses on citizens that used to hold a Yugoslavian citizenship and after the dissolution of Yugoslavia remained stateless within the border of North Macedonia. The law was adopted in a shortened procedure with a European flag, after it was previously blocked by the MPs of Levica who filed over 1,000 amendments to it.