Parliament adopts Changes to Rules of Procedure

The Parliament of Macedonia adopted on Wednesday the Changes and Additions to the Rules of Procedure of the Macedonian Parliament. The changes received the support of 63 MPs, while the MPs from VMRO-DPMNE did not vote at all, with the coordinator of their MP group Nikola Micevski claiming that the changes to the Rules of Procedure are not in coordination with the “Jean Monet” process. “We do not stand against the use of the languages of minorities represented in the Parliament, but we do oppose the Law on Languages the way it is now and how it is implemented,” Micevski told Parliament Speaker Talat Xhaferi, who suggested the Changes to the Rules of Procedure to the Parliament. Xhaferi replied that the law on languages is in force since 2018 and that it predicted changes in the Rules of Procedure of the Parliament to be implemented in a specific time framework.