Reactions to Prespa Agreement adoption by Greek Parliament

NATO Sec Gen Jens Stoltenberg, as well as numerous officials from the EU, US, Germany, France, UK and many other countries congratulated the Greek Parliament on ratifying the Prespa Agreement. “This is an important contribution to the stability and prosperity of the whole region. I look forward to the future Republic of North Macedonia joining NATO,” wrote Stoltenberg on Twitter. EU high Representative Federica Mogherini, EU Enlargement Commissioner Johannes Hahn and European Commission President Jean-Claud Juncker released a joint statement congratulating the agreement adoption. “We warmly welcome the next crucial step in the ratification of the Prespa agreement, taken with today’s vote by the Hellenic Parliament. It took political courage, leadership and responsibility on all sides to resolve one of the most entrenched disputes in the region. We can already say with confidence today that Athens and Skopje have, together, written a new page of our common EU future,” writes the joint statement of Mogherini, Hahn and Juncker. Congratulations also came from the UN, with UN Sec Gen Antonio Guterres and UN Mediator in the name dispute Matthew Nimetz welcoming the efforts made by the PMs of both countries.