Parliament adopts Law on Amnesty for 27 April Parliament Incidents

With 95 votes in favour and 3 votes against the Parliament of Macedonia adopted the Law on Amnesty prepared by the Parliamentary Committee for National Reconciliation. Previous to the voting, the Reconciliation Committee delivered to the Parliament the final version of the law, which will provide amnesty for participants in the Parliament incidents that occurred on 27 April 2017, but not for those which have committed violence, carried weapons with them or had masks on their faces, or were the organisers of the incidents. MP Zekir Ramcilovic from the independent MP group of VMRO-DPMNE and member of the Committee said that that the past two years were very difficult for Macedonia, and that the time has come for all of us to set our differences aside and look each other in the eye once more. The 8 MPs from this group conditioned their further support for the Prespa Agreement with the adoption of this law. Before the voting took place, VMRO-DPMNE MPs Ilija Dimovski and Panco Minov announced they will support the law, while LDP MP Robert MIlevski left the hall, refusing to vote. MP Zijadin Sela also refused to vote for the law, claiming that it is not fair for the man who saved his life that day to face punishment while others are given amnesty.