Protocol for Accession of Macedonia in NATO to be signed Wednesday

An official ceremony of signing of the Protocol for Accession of Macedonia to NATO will take place on Wednesday, 6 February, in Brussels. The Macedonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs informs that the representatives of the 29 member-states of NATO and the Macedonian Foreign Minister Nikola Dimitrov will sign the Protocol, which then will be ratified by the national parliaments of all NATO member-states. Greece is predicted to be the first one to ratify the Protocol, with the session for its ratification scheduled for Friday, 8 February, in the Greek Parliament. After the Protocol is signed, Macedonia will be able to attend all NATO meetings as observer-state, until all members ratify the Protocol, allowing it to become full-fledged member under the name “Republic of North Macedonia”.