Parliament Unanimously Ratifies NATO Accession Protocol

Parliament unanimously ratified on Tuesday the NATO Accession Protocol. The ratification will enter into force once Spain completes that process at a parliamentary level, too. After the vote, Attila Mesterhazy acting President of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, delivered an address. After the session, the NATO flag was hoisted outside Parliament. Previously, during the session, President Stevo Pendarovski and MPs had delivered an address as well, while SDSM leader Zoran Zaev and Hristijan Mickoski, too, had been in attendance. The same day, US Ambassador to NATO Kay Bailey Hutchison commented on Macedonia’s NATO road. “I think, by summer, we will have that North Macedonian flag that will be right out front with all of the other 29 flags that now fly at our NATO Headquarters. Almost every one of our allies has acceded to the access of North Macedonia. One has a formation of government, so it’s only a process issue. So, I think that very shortly we will be able to welcome our allies in North Macedonia, and they’ve done a great job of reform and seeking this membership and being patient and, then, creating the leadership on the name that was essential to begin this accession process. So, we’ll be very happy, in this spring, to welcome them to our table,” she pointed out.