North Macedonia Expels 5 Russian Diplomats

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MoFA) announced on Monday that 5 Russian diplomats at the Embassy in Skopje have been declared “personae non grata” and are expected to leave the country soon. On this occasion, as they report from MoFA, Russian Ambassador Sergey Bazdnikin was called for a meeting within the ministry, where he was handed the resolution for the expulsion of the 5 diplomats in question. According to MoFA, the diplomats in question conducted activities which violate the Vienna Diplomatic Convention, which is why they are given 5 days to leave the country. The decision comes as a response to the Russian military aggression over Ukraine, while another Russian diplomat was already expelled in August 2021, with MoFA once again citing violation of the Vienna Diplomatic Convention as reason. Russian media, citing a source from within the Embassy in Skopje, write that official Moscow will reciprocate this decision of Skopje. In meantime, Russian FM Sergey Lavrov announced that Russia will introduce visas for entry of citizens from the countries they enlisted as “Enemies of Russia” few weeks ago, a list that includes North Macedonia.