North Macedonia Expels Six Russian Diplomats

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has expelled another 6 Russian diplomats from the country, after handing over to Russian Ambassador Sergey Bazdnikin a note that the diplomats in question have violated the Vienna Diplomacy Convention, hence are declared “personae non gratae”. Since the start of the war in Ukraine, North Macedonia has expelled 11 Russian diplomats, 6 now and 5 two weeks ago, as well as two other Russian diplomats in 2021, one in May and one in August. Official Moscow announced reciprocal steps against the diplomatic mission of North Macedonia in Russia. Russia listed North Macedonia on the list of enemy states after the country joined the sanctions introduced by EU against Russia amidst the war in Ukraine.