Preliminary Results: VMRO-DPMNE and Siljanovska Davkova Election Winners

At a press-conference late on Wednesday night, the State Election Commission (SEC) presented the preliminary results of the parliamentary elections.

As SEC President Aleksandar Dastevski said, VMRO-DPMNE’s coalition, Your Macedonia, has won 59 MP seats. With 96.07% of the votes counted, the DUI-led European Front coalition is second, with 19 MP seats, SDSM’s coalition is third, with 18 MPs, while VLEN, 13 MPs, Levica, six MPs, and ZNAM five MPs, are fourth, fifth, and sixth, respectively.

According to Dastevski, it will be known on Thursday (9 May) whether there will be some serious changes.

When it comes to the presidential race, with 97.35% of the votes counted, VMRO-DPMNE-endorsed Gordana Siljanovska Davkova has won 65.08%, while SDSM-endorsed Stevo Pendarovski has received the support of 29.26% of citizens.