Working Group Formed to Prepare Changes to Judicial Council Law

In a press-release on Thursday, the Justice Ministry said the European Commission’s Report contained serious concern over the work of the Judicial Council. As it added, in order to overcome the weaknesses referred to in the document, a working group has been formed to prepare changes to the Judicial Council Law.

It will consist of representatives from the judiciary, academic community, and NGO sector. Academician Vlado Kambovski will head the body.

Among the others are: Margarita Caca-Nikolovska, former Judge at the European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg, former Constitutional Court Judge Bajram Pollozhani, former Constitutional Court Presidents Branko Naumovski and Sali Murati, Supreme Court President Besa Ademi, Jelena Kadric, representative of the Human Rights Institute, Ivana Petkovska, representative of the All For Fair Trials Coalition, Xhemali Saiti, Supreme Court Judge, university professors Denis Preshova, Ana Pavlovska-Daneva, and Besa Arifi, and Supreme Court Judge Shpend Devaja.